The International Conference on Science Education and Teacher Professional Development, and the 2nd Ki Hajar Dewantara Award

As an institution envisioning to improve the competence of science teachers and education personnel in the region, SEAMEO QITEP in Science provides a forum for teachers, academics, researchers and education observers to gather to inform, discuss, exchange and disseminate their best practices in facilitating the learning process in a biennial international conference entitled The International Conference on Science Education and Teacher Professional Development. This year event was conducted in Denpasar, Bali, from 17 to 19 September 2018, themed “Innovation in Teaching, Learning, and Student Engagement through the Implementation of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Education.” The conference was attended by more than 100 teachers from the region including the Ki Hajar Dewantara (KHD) Award awardees.

The conference officially opened by Ms Anti Rismayanti, representative of SEAMEO Secretariat (SEAMES), presented three keynote speakers including Prof Lee Hew-Chan of Korea National University of Education (KNUE), Prof Satryo Soemantri Brodjonegoro of Indonesia Academy of Sciences, and Ms Anti Rismayanti of SEAMES. The three keynote speakers spoke about the current development of STEM Education, in which they highlighted the significances of STEM education that could accommodate the 21st century skills and character-building education. Moderated by Dr Indrawati, the Director of SEAQIS, the keynote session drew audience attention since they were keenly asking questions during the Q&A session.

The plenary session followed the keynote session. Moderated by SEAQIS’ Deputy Directors, Dr Indarjani and Ms Lili Indarti, the plenary session, which was divided into two sessions, presented four speakers sharing their best-practices in implementing STEM in their respective countries. The first speaker of the session was Mr Lau Chor Yam, a master teacher who are also SEAQIS’ Governing Board (GB) member from Singapore. The second presenter was Dr Habibah Abdul Rahim, a GB Member from Malaysia, followed by Ms Lee Saw Im. She is a chemistry teacher from Malaysia who won the fisrt Ki Hajar Dewantara Award. The last speaker of the session was Mr Herwin Hamid of Indonesia. He elaborated the the importance of Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) in STEM Education. The first day of the conference was concluded by a parallel session where ten nominees of KHDA from Indonesia presented their paper.

The second day of the conference was the conduct of the 2nd KHD Award. The Award is an idea and initiative by the Centre to honour and appreciate science teachers who have dedicated their lives and effort to bring the teaching and learning process up to an excellent level. The seven nominees from seven SEAMEO member countries presented their papers during this session. The nominees were 1) Ms Dini Siti Anggraeni from Indonesia; 2) Mr Sisakhet Phewkhamphom from Lao PDR; 3) Mr Norhailmi bin Abdul Mutalib from Malaysia; 4) Mr Bryant C Acar from Philippines; 5) Mr Koh Chee Kiang from Singapore; 6) Mr Somsak Techakosit from Thailand; and 7) Mr Daniel Gusmão from Timor Leste. The Centre as the organizer of the event appointed independent judges for the event consisting of Prof Lew Hee-chan of Korea National University of Education, Dr Gatot Hari Priowirjanto of SEAMES, and Ms Dini Adiba Septanti, the representative of the Ministry of Education and Culture of the Republic of Indonesia.

The second parallel session followed the presentation of the KHD Award. The remaining nine nominees of KHD Award from Indonesia presented their paper. The international conference concluded with closing ceremony where the director of the Centre delivered her remark. In her remark, she expressed her gratitude to all parties who had helped the conduct of the conference including the KHDA. Besides, at that moment she also announced the three first place of the KHD Award. The first place was taken by Mr Koh Chee Kiang from Singapore, the second place was taken Mr Bryant C Acar from Philippines, and Ms Dini Siti Anggraeni from Indonesia took the third place. The Award was presented by HE Prof Muhadjir Effendi, the Ministry of Education and Culture, the Republic of Indonesia, during the opening ceremony of the International Seminar 2018: SEAMEO Education Agenda for Sustainable Southeast Asia, at The Stones Hotel on 19 September 2018.

Like this article?

Share on facebook
Share on Facebook
Share on twitter
Share on Twitter

Leave a comment

Scroll to top
Skip to content